Sunday, June 13, 2010

Starbucks Flavored Syrups

Oh my, oh my!  I just read an article in Gluten-Free Living magazine that Starbucks has confirmed that there is a lot of cross-contamination in the process of their coffee and specialty drinks.  This saddens me, as getting coffee is at Starbucks is part of my daily ritual.

Only about 1 1/2 years ago did I discover that Starbucks flavored syrups were NOT gluten-free.  I had to say goodbye to the vanilla syrup, gingerbread syrup, egg nog syrup, pumpkin spice syrup and all those other fancy syrups.  These syrups have Caramel Coloring coloring in them, and caramel coloring has gluten.  The FDA says it is considered gluten-free because caramel coloring has under 20ppm, but that 20ppm is still gluten.  Therefore you have to gauge your sensitivity.  

It took me so long to figure out why my hair was thinning and falling out.  About 1 month after I stopped all the Starbucks syrups and stuck with a plain latte, my hair slowly but surely began to restore itself.  Thank God!  I had gotten worried.  

Now I get my Gluten-Free Living magazine in the mail and I read an article on Cross Contamination at Starbucks and then find out further that Starbucks now adds gluten to their Frappuccino Light! (But the regular Frappuccino mixes do not have gluten).

But the company is saying that all drinks are to be considered having gluten because of the contamination process.

Questions or concerns? 1-800-23-LATTE

Previous blog posts regarding Carmel Coloring and Starbucks by moi: 


Speaking of Starbucks article of feb 26th

Starbucks : post: 3/10

xoxo Julie


No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your thoughts my Lovelies! I want to hear from YOU! xx