Right on time, my GFLiving latest magazine issue came in the mail a few weeks ago. I have been putting it off for a while because I have been so busy. But today was the perfect day to sit outside during lunch and read. In the last few months I have been hearing about 2 grains that are believed to possibly have gluten cross-contamination. Rice and Quinoa. Rice has been having a large debate for a while now, with certain studies showing cross-contamination. There are two thoughts here. Some believe it is ok and others do not. It is however stated that rice is considered a gluten-free grain. Now that rice is out of the way...It should not shock me that Quinoa is in the spotlight...
Lately I have been hearing quite a bit about Quinoa. Is quinoa gluten-free? Is there cross-contamination by wheat? There has been a lot of scruitney about Quinoa and the end result? Quinoa is considered a gluten-free grain.
So where is this scruitney coming from? There is one Kosher group worried about this. The New York-based Orthodox Union, the world's largest Kosher certification agency says its inspectors have found traces of wheat and other grains mixed with quinoa. In addition increased demand for quinoa has persuaded farmers in Bolivia and Peru who previously grew wheat or barely to plant quinoa too.
Now for those that remain skeptical, there are brands that produce quinoa that label their boxes gluten free such as Ancient Harvest Quinoa who produce their quinoa or farm their quinoa in cetain areas of Bolivia that support gf farming and avoid cross-contamination.
For those who are gluten-free, a new study just published in Molecular Nutrition and Food Research confirms that quinoa is a gluten-free grain. And is therefore suitable for those on the gluten-free diet.
If you would like to know more about this please check out your latest copy of GFLiving Magazine, page 14 for Amy Ratner's story. If you do not subscribe to this magazine check it out online.
Enjoy! xoxo Julie