Monday, March 29, 2010

GF Water Cooler-Balaboosta Restaurant

While scoping out New York Magazine today I came across an article on the up and coming mediterranean restaurant that goes by the name of Balaboosta.  Balaboosta is now serving gluten-free pasta!  Balaboosta is located in the heart of Nolita on 214 Mulberry street.  (212)-966-7366.

xoxo Julie

http://www.goodiegoodiegluten-free.blogspot.com/

Saturday, March 27, 2010

GF PASSOVER PARADISE-RECIPES

What I love about my gluten-free lifestyle, is that I can always find a plethora of information when it comes to gluten-free products.  What to eat, what I cannot eat, what has gluten in it and what does not.  But recipes on the other hand are hard to come by.  Of course there are a ton on the net, as well as in books, but how do I know they are really good?  Unless I have made them myself once before, how can I trust these recipes?  I'm sure you think the same thing.  It's always nice to try new recipes and I always do.  I have had success from some, and the others end up tasting not that good.  Who needs that on Passover?  So here's to you my fellow readers, I have been going through hundreds of mouth watering recipes to only pic a select few that will make up my Passover Menu.  It's called Passover Paradise for a reason.

Happy Holidays and enjoy!  

Say hello to classic GF Passover Noodle Kugel.   once again.  For a while Noodle Kugel and I were on a break as I couldn't seem to find the right recipe for a Gluten-free version.  When I was first diagnosed, I never even dreamed that I could have this dish gluten-free.  Now we can.  Yum!

Gluten Free Matzoh Ball Soup  by Elana's Pantry.  Elana's Pantry blog is a trusted site, filled with amazing recipes directly from her kitchen.  She has also written books and is very affiliated in the celiac scene.  Any recipe from Elana is worth serving at my seder table.




Maybe you want to make your own GF Oat Matzoh or GF Matzoh Crackers-And this time if you make your own Gluten-Free matzoh you can eat it too!  Hiding the Matzoh is a famous Passover pastime for everyone celebrating this holiday.  An elder would hide the matzoh, and whom ever found it got the money or goodie in return.  Many store brands of gluten-free matzoh are expensive.  I have seen some at $30 a box!  Now, for people that are on a budget, that is just a plain waste of money.  But if you have the time and can make it from scratch I think that is the cheaper way to go, not to mention you will be experiments with your own gluten-free matzoh.  Now that is pretty impressive.



Gluten Free Scalloped Potatoes from Jen's Gluten Free Blog can offer a great side dish to accompany your apps at the sedar table.

GF Roasted Sweet Potatoes can be a great and healty side dish.  I like to provide a few options.  Sweet Potato's are healthy, it's a veggie and it has a lot of fiber.  You really can't go wrong with sweet.  However, sometimes kiddies are not to fond of this dish.  I remember as a child if it didn't have marshmallows on top I was not eating it.  Good thing most marshmallows are gluten-free!  When you add the marshmallows it tastes like candy.  Yum!




If you don't want to make your own menu, which can often be a lot of work, check out this already prepared Gluten Free Seder Menu  I found on About.com under kosher.  This post has an entire seder menu of recipes from various authors and bloggers. 


Gluten Free Passover Recipes from Ellen at Iamglutenfree.blogspot.com
or maybe you are in need of a Gluten Free Vegan Passover

Found on RecipeBazaar.com over 3,090 recipes for a gluten-free Passover.  Each recipe is rated and easy to understand.  There are even reviews and comments to get feedback.  These recipes indicate amount of time it takes to make, preparation time, how many it serves and more.  Amazing recipes for Macaroons,  Gluten Free Matzoh Ball Kneidlach Passover Soup Dumplings,  Chocolate Flourless CakePotato Kugal and more!



Last but not least on the seder table, you cannot forget the BRISKET.  Since I was a child, I have always eaten Brisket on Passover.  


Now to the GOODIES.  As you all know I am a lover of sweets.  Gluten-free sweets that is.  I found so many it was hard not to put every dessert recipe in my post!  But isn't dessert the best part anyways?  

Amazing GF Chocolate Cake Cupcakes that are safe for Passover from The Cupcake Project



or this GF Passover Chocolate Cake that happens to be Gluten-Free by Jamey Fisher

Orange apricot Gluten Free Passover Sponge Cake from the blog Hey, That Tastes Good



from the Washington Post entitled "a Passover cake that works"

17 Gluten-Free Flourless Dessert options for Passover  like GF Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies or GF Chocolate Chip Meringues or Flourless Chocolate Walnut Cookies.  (*pls note that some recipes listed in this link are not gluten free, such as the Lemon Cheesecake Crust.  Please read all ingredients

xoxo Julie

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!  

***Would love to hear your thoughts!  'Comments' Tab is next to 'Posted by goodie goodie gluten-free' and next to 'link post'.  Tell me what you think and what you are making for this holiday.  : )

Monday, March 22, 2010

GF WATER COOLER-Friedmans Lunch




Today in NYC the weather was yummy!  The air was warm and crisp and I didn't even need a jacket.  What a lovely day for brunch.  Luckily my brother and I already had plans.  He, who is not gluten-free suggests we go to Friedmans Lunch located in the heart of the Chelsea Market on 9th Ave. between 15th and 16th Street.  I was really glad he chose this place because I have read in so many other gluten-free blogs that they have a great gluten-free menu.  Perfect choice brother!

What's strange I think, is that I have never been to Chelsea Market in all of the ten years I have lived in NYC.  Shame on me!  The market looks less like a market and more of a long path of indoor bakeries, food spots, wine spots, Flower markets and grocery markets.  It's actually really cool!  The inside is rustic and wooden and I almost felt like I was in a ride at Epcot Center in Disney World.  When I walked in, I was overwhelmed.  There were so many people and a long maze/path of unknown road.  I asked the security guard where the restaurant was and he said all the way down to your right. I did not think I would be walking for a long time. Little did I know I'd be walking a path to the 'rabbit hole' in a complete confused daze.  That place is huge!  Not easy to find if you are a newbie.  Which I was.

It was casual when I walked in, almost like I didn't expect to see it here in NYC, maybe somewhere south.  Friedmans had a relaxed and homey atmosphere.  The wait staff was super friendly and inviting, and the food was fantastic. The menu isn't huge I have to admit, but there are great gluten free choices on the menu.  Everything on the menu with a asterisk/dot is gluten-free.  This is the first restaurant I have seen or been to besides Rissoteria that has gluten-free sandwiches.  I had the Blackened CatFish Sandwich with Collared Greens/Pickles and mixed greens.  Yum!  My brother had (also gluten-free) the Corn Grits with 2 eggs over easy and grilled shrimp, along with GF Sausage.  Double yum!  


GF Blackened Catfish Sandwich with Collared Greens and Pickles


Open faced Catfish Sandwich


GF Corn Grits with 2 Eggs over Easy and Grilled Shrimp


GF Sausage



Would I come back here? Absolutely!  I have already told my entire family about Friedmans Lunch, and I am considering taking my book club here.  It's a perfect spot.

Check out the Delivery Menu, the Brunch Menu and the Dinner Menu

xoxo Julie


**Would love to hear your thoughts!  'Comments' Tab is next to 'Posted by goodie goodie gluten-free' and next to 'link post'.

Sunday, March 21, 2010

GF Chocolate Peanut Butter Soup

This recipe is rich and decadent.  I usually never keep sweets in my home in fear I will eat them, but sometimes you need a chocolatey peanut butter fix.



GF Chocolate Peanut Butter Soup
Copyright© 2009-2010 Julie Rosenthal.  All recipes cannot be copied without owner's permission.  All Rights Reserved. 

In a custard cup add in this order:
1 1/2 Tsp. GF Butterscotch chips (try Hershey's(offered on Amazon.com, Bakingchipsstore.com or Kroger-they are gluten-free)
2 Tsp. 60% Dark or Bittersweet GF Chocolate Chips
1 Tsp. Semi-Sweet GF Chocolate Chips

**Use a kitchen spoon for measuring rather then measuring spoons.

Microwave in custard cup for 80 seconds.  Take out of microwave and gently stir.



Add a dollop of GF Natural Peanut Butter (try Peanut Butter and Company-Smooth Operator) to the
center of the custard cup.


Serve as a warm chocolate soup or serve with strawberries.

xoxo Julie
http://www.goodiegoodiegluten-free.blogspot.com/

**Comments tab is underneath post next to 'posted by goodie goodie gluten-free' and next to 'link post'

Saturday, March 20, 2010

GF WATER COOLER-Pam Cooking Spray

In case you didn't know...

Some cooking sprays out there are NOT gluten-free!  It might be something you have never thought of, and at one point I didn't either.  But upon hearing through the grapevine, it turns out this is the case.  Luckily most PAM cooking sprays are GLUTEN-FREE (except for the BAKING SPRAY-this is NOT gluten-free).  You might have symptoms you can't figure out and might be wondering where they came from.  I am providing these tid-bits, because gluten can hide anywhere! 

xoxo Julie

http://www.goodiegoodiegluten-free.blogspot.com/

GF WATER COOLER-Holland House Cooking Wine

Great news!  All Holland House Cooking Wines are 100% GLUTEN-FREE!  Yeah!!!  I frequently actually no-Religiously use this brand when I create my recipes.  My cupboard is always stocked with Holland House White Cooking Wine and Holland House Marsala Cooking Wine.  

The following Holland House Cooking Wines are gluten-free:

white cooking wine
sherry cooking wine
marsala cooking wine
red cooking wine
vermouth cooking wine
lemon flavor white cooking wine

xoxo Julie

Site Maintenance

Hello my fellow readers!  Just a quick update.  I am in the midst of organizing my site, which means some of my label lists are going to change.  But for your benefit.  I am trying to make my sight easier to navigate, so pardon the next hour of maintenance. 

xoxo Julie

GF WATER COOLER-NYC's Village Pourhouse

Out of all of my friends, I am the only one who is gluten-free.  My friends have cousins and other relatives who are Celiac, but not my group of girl-friends.  With that said, I am always talking gluten-free to the girls about my lifestyle and my gluten-free finds.   I'm sure they find me very annoying because Celiac Disease is something they cannot relate to, but on the flip side they are learning something from me.  So my friend Meredith bbm's me yesterday to tell me that her hubby was at a bar in NYC watching college football, and that bar had 3 types of gluten-free beer!

I was super psyched!  I quickly bbm'd her back and asked her to ask her husband what types they were and what bar it was.  I told her I would blog about it in my GF BUZZ section.  Lately I am starting to realize that my friends get just as excited as I do, when we find, Gluten-free FINDS!

                                                                           **pic is from CitySearch.com


The Village Pourhouse located in New York City has two locations, one on 982 Amsterdam Avenue. between 102nd and 103rd street, and the other on the downtown side of Manhattan  64 3rd Avenue at 11th Street.  (212) 979-2337.  Known for being a Beer Bar, as well as being a favorite sports bar around town, the Village Pourhouse likes to serve Organic beers and gluten-free beers, so they can be attracted to a wide variety of people.  This way no one gets left out. 

Their website is pretty cool, with a variety of events such as Beer Tastings and Beer Classes and Flight Programs to a very tasty menu if you need some chow (not gluten-free, but easily convertible).  And they have great Specials!  And you know they are a good bar from all of the awards they receive like: Time Out NY 2007 Eat Out Awards-Best New Beer Bar or Crain's 2008 Best Places to Work Award, or 2008's Best of Citysearch College Bar and 2008 Best Of Citysearch College Bar, last but not least Best Beer Bar From Blackbook.  That's pretty rad to have all those "bestee's" under their belt.

And last but not least their Gluten-Free beer selection.  For anyone that loves beer and is Gluten-Free this is fantastic news.  I don't know many bars that have a gluten-free beer selection and in a pub in NYC for that matter!  Yee Haw!
The following are located at both of their NYC locations.  They may have more, but these are the ones that were reported to me through the amazing technology of the Blackberry.  What would I do without my Berry!?


Green's-Amber Ale and other varieties from Greens
PEAK Organic Brewing Company.  Peak I have never heard of, but I hear it's amazing and its a brewing company in Maine. 

Stop on by for a nice cold glass of beer...OF GLUTEN FREE BEER.

xoxo Julie

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Hidden Gluten 101-Where Gluten Can Be Found

Between books, magazines, newspapers and the web, there is a plethora of gluten-free information everywhere.  This is at our fingertips, yet it can often feel overwhelming and out of reach by many new comers.  Wouldn't it just be easier if there was one simple guide we could have without the stress of searching for our answers?  I have compiled below some of the things I have learned while living my gluten-free journey.  I am using advice of doctors, nutritionists, my own personal experiences and tried and true facts written from books, blogs and other online resources.  Below are the small (but large) tid-bits on a PREVENTING gluten from entering our gluten-free bodies. 


HIDDEN GLUTEN AND WHERE IT LURKS:

1. Bailey's Irish Cream is not gluten free.  Bailey's has barley and malt in it.  Barely also has caramel coloring.  

2. Caramel coloring is labeled gluten-free because it has under 20ppm of gluten.  It is considered gluten-free by the FDA in North America, but it does in fact have gluten in it.  If Caramel coloring is added to a product manufactured in Europe, Australia or other overseas countries, you must check with the manufacturer.

3. Kahlua is considered gluten-free because it has under 20ppm of gluten and has been labeled gluten free, however there is Caramel Coloring in Kahlua, and if you have a sensitivity to Caramel Coloring then steer clear. (*see number 2)

4. Guinness beer is NOT gluten free.  It is only Wheat Free.  Guinness is made with sorghum but it is not gluten free.

5. Nigerian Guinness is NOT gluten-free.

6. Cold Cuts and cheeses from the DELI: When cut on the same slicer along with other gluten products this can serve you up one huge sour stomach of CROSS CONTAMINATION.  When different meats and cheeses are cut on the deli slicer cross-contamination is brewing.  Not all cold cuts are gluten-free, and even that small amount of cross contamination is going to affect you.  Residues are left on the slicer's and that residue can rest on your cold cuts.  Stick with packaged or ask deli associate to wipe the slicer before slicing your gluten-free cold cuts and cheeses.  Or order your deli meat and cheese first thing in the morning before the slicer is used to cut anything else.  This will risk an upset stomach.  And good news!  Boar's Head cold cuts and cheese are gluten free!  Boar's head does not use any fillers or thickeners in their products.  They are completely gluten free! 

7.  Whiskey is labeled gluten free, because it is distilled-however many sensitive Celiacs cannot digest or tolerate whiskey, because even in it's distilled form, it can still hold some gluten from the distillation process.

8. Not all processed meat is gluten free!  Whether it be bacon, Roast Beef, sausage, a burger (turkey, veggie or meat) or others-always check the package for hidden fillers.  Hidden fillers lurk everywhere and anywhere.  In restaurants chefs use fillers (wheat, breadcrumbs, thickeners) to bind burgers or patties together.  It needs to hold with something right?  Make sure you check with the manager at restaurants to make sure you are not ingesting any hidden gluten.  Rare Bar and Grill on 36th and Lex-their classic burger is gluten-free, minus the bread.  Just add some toppings like Portobello Mushrooms and Tarragon Butter for a bit of zing or Dinosaur BBQ in Harlem, NYC ribs and sauce are gluten-free.

9. If you are eating packaged meats then check the ingredients.

10. French Fries, Hash Browns, Onion Rings, Zucchini chips, Mozzarella Sticks, Fish Sticks , Potato Skins, Breakfast Potato's, Mashed Potatoes and Spinach dip are not gluten free (unless otherwise specified).
 ***see details: 
10a. French fries are usually diped in the same fryer as other gluten foods.  Therefore you are messing with cross-contamination.  Always check with the waiter to see if they use a seperate fryer.  **Pastis  Restaurant in NYC uses a seperate fryer for their fries and therefore are safe.

10b. Spinach Dip or any 'dip' for that matter-uses thickening agents and flour.  If it is homemade, then ask about the ingredients.

10c.  Hash Browns and Breakfast potato's often are used with flour and thickeners.  Hash browns have thickening agents in the batter and therefore are not gluten free.  **Ask before you eat-if the waiter and chef cannot give you a clear answer steer clear!

10d. Breakfast Potato's are often dusted with flour.  **Ask before you eat-if the waiter and chef cannot give you a clear answer steer clear!

10e.  Mashed Potato's often have thickeners and flour in the mix.  Always ask the chef if they are homemade, and if they have thickeners.  Most made from boxes already have thickeners in the mix.  Steer clear!

10f.  Mozarella sticks, fish sticks, onion rings, zucchini fries, chickpea fries, avocado fries, fried fish, fried crab, fish and chips, fried 'anything' all have gluten and in many forms.  Cross contamination-all of these items are usually dipped in the same fryer as each other, whether gluten-free or not.  By mixing them in the same fryer cross contamination has occured.  

11.  Sauces:  Unless you know where that sauce has come from steer clear.  Sauces are tricky, you have to know that in sauces lurks flours, thickeners, thickening agents, malt, wheat, barely, dextrose mustards, additives, non gluten free soy sauces, BBQ sauces, teriyaki sauces, asian marinades,  bottled sauces, marinades, gravy's,  malt vinegar and more can be lurking in your sauce.  When at a restaurant check with the chef to see what the sauce was made from.  If you get an unclear answer, ask polietly for no sauce.

12. Bloody Mary's-A favorite past time cocktail on a Sunday afternoon.  I hate to break  it to you but not all Bloody Mary mixes are gluten-free.  Ask the bartender or serving associate what the pre-made mix is made with.

13. Soy Sauce is not gluten free or wheat free unless you buy the wheat free soy sauce.  Teriyaki sauce, Wosteshire sauce, hoisen sauce, marinades, gravy, bbq sauce are not gluten free or wheat free, unless you buy special brands that are gluten free.  Try San-J.
14. Many of the syrups at Starbucks are not gluten free.  Many of the syrups have caramel coloring in them.  That means no Gingerbread, egg nog, green tea, pumpkin spice vanilla and all those other syrups in your latte or fraps.  Opt for a plain latte. 

15. Grocery products: always check the ingredients whether it be a bottle of pickles, a tub of humus, a bag of tortilla chips, a bottle of salad dressing or prepared foods.  Always check the ingredients.

16.  Always check the ingredients.  Even if you have bought that product before-ingredients change.

17.  Cake Frosting: Most cake frostings are not gluten-free.  Some contain wheat, malt, wheat starch, barley and more.  Always read the ingredients.  Great news! Betty Crocker came out with a line of gluten-free frostings.  In the back of the container it states gluten free.  The two lines are Whipped and Rich and Creamy.

 18. Barley Malt Extract, Barley, Malt, Wheat, Wheat Flour, Caramel Coloring*, Wheat Starch, modified food starch, starch (if it doesn't specify origin, don't trust it), maltodextrin*(most is derived from corn, but with some products it could be wheat), certain additives, certain extracts (if it's not in it's purest forms), 

19. Wheat in all of its form, including Kamut, Semolina, Spelt, and Triticale, Barley, including Malt and Rye are NOT GLUTEN FREE.

20. Malt beverages, wine coolers, or hard lemonade often contain gluten in forms of malt barley-check the ingredients.

21. Rice Krispie Treats are NOT gluten-free. 

22. Corn Pops are NOT gluten free.

23.  HVP (hydrogenated vegetable protein), HPP (hydrolyzed plant protein), TVP (textured vegetable protein), MSG (monosodium glutamate), Mono-and di-glycerides, Wheat Germ Oil,  Maltodextrin, Vitamin E,  could contain wheat if made outside the U.S.A.

 24. Stabilizers, binders, fillers should be avoided.  This is another term for HIDDEN GLUTEN.

25. Blue Cheese and other cheeses from the Blue Cheese family can contain HIDDEN GLUTEN during the making/processing of the cheese.

26. Bourbon, Scotch, Grain Vodka's and Ale contain HIDDEN GLUTEN

27. Reduced Fat Products-can contain hidden gluten
28. Puddings, Custards and Pie Fillings can contain HIDDEN GLUTEN

29. Herbal tea's-Some herbal teas contain hidden gluten and obvious gluten.  One would never think to look at the ingredients in tea.  Herbal Holiday tea's have roasted barley and malt in their tea's.  Tea flavors to stay away from are Sugar Cookie, Hazelnut, Gingerbread and others.  Always check!!

30. Candy Canes are not gluten free.  Well, the ingredients in candy canes are ok, but that handy plastic wrap they are wrapped in?  Candy makers use flour and other gluten sources to allow the candy canes to set and not stick to it wrapping.  Try Spanglers Gluten Free candy canes and buy here.


Links on Hidden Gluten I like and Find Informative:


Celiac.com




 xoxo Julie













Monday, March 15, 2010

GF St. Paddy's Day-A Complete Guide To a Festive Day!

**Pic from recipebazaar.com St. Paddy's Day CookBook

"St. Patrick's Day is celebrated on March, 17th every year for over a thousand years.  This holiday is named after Saint Ptrick (circa A.D. 387-493), the most commonly recognized of the patron saints of Ireland.  It began purely as a Christian Holiday and became an official feast day in the early 1600's.  However, it has gradually become more of a secular celebration of Ireland's culture.  It is a public holiday on the island of Ireland; including Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.  It is also widely celebrated in places where there aer large numbers of Irish Immigrants and their offspring-this includes Great Britain, Canada, the United States, Argentina, Austrailia, New Zeland and Monserrat, among others". (*quoted from Wikipedia.org)

For more information and child-friendly information on St. Patrick's Day visit:

As a Jew I am not to familiar with the meaning of St. Patrick's Day, however I do partake in the festivities. I can't drink Green Beer, because Green Beer is never offered as gluten-free, but usually in NYC I find SOME bars that do have at least one beer that is gluten-free.  Of course this means that I have to be extra wordy with a bartender in a very loud bar about being gluten-free and asking (usually) him to show me the ingredients in a loud bar filled with people dressed in green.  Don't get me wrong, I love the festivities this holiday has to bring.  It's celebratory, festive, fun and you get to dress up ridiculously and it's "okay" to proceed in a unusual manner.  It's great!  In NYC people parade on the streets drunk out of their minds, every bar open is crowded with people at all hours of the day and then when you have drank enough green beer you head over to a friends house to eat a steaming hot crock pot filled with cabbage and irish bacon or roast beef.  

I started to celebrate this holiday when I moved to NYC.  I was the one who bought all of the green accessories!  I couldn't just buy one, I had to get an entire wardrobe of accessories in green.  Green necklaces, green necklace shot glasses, green hats, green crowns, green bracelets-you name it I would buy it, and for my friends too.  Everyone has to be festive!

But it's not so festive when you can't join in on the fun and drink Green Beer with your buddies or girlfriends, or beer for that matter, and then whomever you are speaking to at a bar, you have to explain why you can't have gluten and in a loud bar, that is hard to do and then after all is said and done you become the party pooper!

Well, no more I say!  There has got to be something we can enjoy on St. Paddy's day!  For this post I did a bit of research on the meaning of St. Paddy's Day and some gluten free options for us all.

 Gluten Free Beer Recipe Suggestions:

Green Gluten-Free Beer from RecipeBazaar.com by -Rita_.  Substitute in gluten-free beer such as O'Brien Brown Ale , O'Brian Pale Ale and O'Brian Premium Lager with a review on taste.

Gluten-Free Beer Suggestions:

Red Bridge by Anheurser-Busch

Bard's Tale by Bard's Tale Beer Company

New Grist by Lakefront Brewery

Green's Endeavour by Green's Gluten Free Beers

St. Peters by St. Peter's Brewery

Hambleton by Hambletonales Ales

Messagere by Messagere Red Ale

Rampo Valley by Rampo Valley Brewery

Sprecher  by Sprecher Brewery

I found this great post on gluten free beer reviews.  It's a must read!  Find out what beers are fruity, nutty, what gluten-free ingredients they are made from and what the calorie content is.  Need a gluten-free beer review? Click HERE
For more Obscure beers check out this site for gluten free beers made in spain, England, Austrailia, Italy, Canada, UK and places in the U.S. like Wisconsin, Milwaukee and MN.

These are beers I have never heard of, but I am not the biggest beer drinker.  Check them out!
Ambar Celiacos found in the U.K.

Birra 76 BiAglut found in Italy (*Website in Italian)

Green's Mission, Green's Pathfinder and Green's Quest all are suitable for Vegans and Vegetarians

 Nick Stafford G.F.A. , Nick Stafford G.F.L. and a  review on taste

O'Brien Brown Ale , O'Brian Pale Ale and O'Brian Premium Lager with a review on taste.

And If you are still looking for more, don't forget to check out Triumph Dining's Gluten Free Beer list.  Most is the same that I have listed, but they give some great descriptions on taste and flavor.

If you happen to be in Boulder, CO, don't forget to check out this new crafted beer called New Planet Tread Lightly Ale.

And if you happen to be in Montana check out this Bar for some gluten-free beer.

Spiked Gluten Free Coffees and drinks: 

Coffee with Bailey's and Kahlua from RecipeBazaar.com by rsarahl.  *Bailey's has GLUTEN!!  There is usually barely malt in the ingredients.  For this drink just use Kahlua. **Caramel coloring is found in both Kahlua and Baileys.  Caramel coloring does have gluten in it, but is under 20ppm.  According to the FDA, if a product is 20ppm or less then it is considered 'gluten-free'. To those that do not have a sensitivity to foods containing less then 20ppm, enjoy.  To those that cannot even tolerate gluten unless it's under 5ppm, then steer clear from this drink and beverages associated with it.

St. Paddy's Day Foodie Recipes:

Roast Beef Cottage Pie from RecipeBazaar.com-substitute the gravy for gluten free gravy like Maxwell's Kitchen Gravy Mix.

Simple Corned Beef Crock Pot from RecipeBazaar.com by Diananumber2-substitute the yellow mustard for gluten free mustard used with apple cider vinegar-just check the ingredients.  This recipe is naturally gluten-free.

Slow Cooked Corn Beef from RecipeBazaar.com by Basicook-if you are sensitive to white vinegar then use apple cider vinegar. This recipe is naturally gluten-free.

Irish Colcannon Winter Vegetable Casserole from RecipeBazaar.com by Miss. Annie-this recipe is naturally gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Irish Soda Bread from About.com by Teri Gruss, MS

Sandwich Soda Dill Onion Bread from Bookofyum.com

Irish Soda Bread  from GlutenFree.com

Gluten-Free Crackers St. Paddy's Style: 


Dr. Schar's Table Crackers from GlutenFreeMall.com


Dr. Schar's Crisp Bread from GlutenFreeMall.com

Mrs. Crimble's Original Cheese Crackers from GlutenFreeMall.com

Glutino Original Table Crackers, Cheddar Crackers, Multigrain Crackers and Vegetable Crackers can be found at Whole Foods, GlutenFree.com, at other health oriented grocers.

All recipes I have researched are recipes that I truly believe in, and know just from reading the ingredients that they will be worthy eating.

Enjoy your St. Paddy's Day!

xoxo,

Julie

http://www.goodiegoodiegluten-free.blogspot.com/

GF WATER COOLER-Betty Crocker

So I finally found Betty Crocker's gluten-free frosting in my regular supermarket!  It happened today, I went to check out what my neighboring markets had for a gluten free passover gal, and I wandered into the baking section of Gristedes on 34th Street and 3rd Ave.  I not only saw the frostings but Gristedes also had the Betty Crocker Mixes!  This is the first time I am seeing this in NYC, not to mention Murray Hill.  I am so glad to see this is becoming a widespread!  Yeah!!

I mentioned Betty Crocker mixes in a previous post about Betty Crocker's Gluten Free Baking Mixes.

Check out these wonderful recipes submitted to Betty Crocker.

There are two types of Betty Crocker frosting that are gluten-free; Whipped and Rich and Creamy.


xoxo Julie

Sunday, March 14, 2010

GF Passover Round-up-The Ultimate Guide


What is Passover?  We all know that we can't eat Wheat or flour.  We all know that there are special things we need to eat for a certain amount of time and that Jews on this holiday must celebrate with a seder but what is the meaning of this holiday?  Passover is an 8 day celebration that is observed in the middle of Spring during the Hebrew month of Nissan.  It commemorates the emancipation of the Israelites from Slavery in ancient Egypt.  And, by following the rituals of Passover, we have the ability to relive and experience the true freedom that our ancestors gained...*to see more click HERE

I think we all know that when it comes to the Holidays, being gluten free can be pretty tough whether we are an adult or a child.  There's not other way around it.  For us with allergies or an intolerance especially with gluten or wheat, it's never an easy breezy holiday.  Whether dining out, or being invited to another person's home or just cooking the big meal on your own-it's never an easy task.  There is so much to worry about, what products are gluten free, what products are gluten free and kosher for passover, what candy is okay, how about faux Matzoh brands and making sure there is no cross contamination-but with my guide It finally can be easy breezy! 

I always have trouble when it comes to the holidays.  I have one side of my family that is super understanding of my situation, and the other-well not so much.  And that makes it even harder.  I almost wish that others that invite me over would have this list handy instead of asking me a zillion questions and therefore making my holiday stressful rather then peaceful, but alas, in an ideal world right?   So below is your gluten free supermarket for a gluten free Passover.  I have listed manufacturers, brands and items that are KOSHER for Passover and Gluten Free.  

To make this a bit more readable.  I have listed everything by it's brand name, with a few themed catergories towards the bottom.  If there is something that I have no listed, it doesn't mean it is not gluten free, it just means I didn't see it, or don't know about it.  

Your Gluten-Free Passover Product Guide:
  
 Manischewitz is a great brand for kosher and Jewish foods.  For a long time Manischewitz has had a great selection of gluten free products as well as gluten free and kosher for passover products.  There are soooo many gluten free products on this website like Marinara Sauce, Tomato Mushroom Sauce, Apple Butter, Borscht (all), Condensed Clear Chicken Consomme, Condensed Clear Chicken Broth, cooking sprays (all varieties),  grape juice, Homestyle potato Lake Mix (my favorite)!, Mini potato Knish Mix, Potato Kugel Mix, Potato Pancake Mix (another fav)!, Schav, Sweetened Potato Pankcake Mix (don't love),  Cappuccino Chip Macaroons, Caramel Cashew Patties, Chocolate Chip Macaroons, Chocolate Chunk Cherry Macaroons, Chocolate Frolic Bears, Max's Magic Lollycones, Chocolate Macaroons, Chocolate Morsels, Coconut Macaroons, Banana Split Macaroons, Toffee Crunch Macaroons, Fruit Slices, Mini Sour Fruit Slices,  Fudgy Nut Brownie Macaroons, Hazelnut Truffles, Honey Nut Macaroons, Horseradish (all), Mallo Cups, Marshmallows, Passover Noodles, Peppermint Patties, Potato Chips (all varieties), Potato Starch, Raspberry Jelly Bars, Rocky Road Macaroons, Salt, Swiss Chocolate Mints, Tender Coconut Patties, Ultimate Triple Chocolate Macaroons, Vegetable Oil, and Viennese Crunch.  **be careful with the egg noodles.  The noodles made from potato starch are gluten free, but MOST of them are made with wheat flour!  Check the ingredients!!

Dr. Praeger's has a great line of Gluten Free items!  I have tried almost all of them.  Out of their gluten free line they also provide a KOSHER for Passover Gluten Free line.  Their Kosher line is certified with the appropriate stamp and they won the KosherFest award for 2004.  Their gluten free variety consists of:  Passover Broccoli Pancakes, Passover Fish Sticks, Passover Fish Fillets,  Passover Fishies, Passover Potato Pancakes, Passover Spinach Pancakes and Passover Sweet Potato Pancakes.
(**Click HERE for their gluten free (not kosher for passover) list of products).  **Please also note that these items will be found in your frozen food section and can be bought at various specialty supermarkets like Westerly Market, Whole Foods, Health Nuts and more all over NYC, Brooklyn, Queens, Long Island.  For other locations click below and enter your zip code.
Click HERE for a STORE LOCATOR by zip code to find a supermarket nearest you!
These products are very Kid-Friendly and perfect for the little ones.
 Shabtai Gourmet -There's nothing like going to a bakery and being able to have everything they are offering.  And not to mention it's Passover, and you can still have it!  This is a bakery that is located in Long Island, but also sells it's products in neighboring supermarkets.  So if you don't live in Long Island, you can still get your sticky little fingers on these amazing cakes!  Shabtai Gourmet's products are also Casein Free, Dairy Free, Peanut Free, Lactose Free and Soy Free.  Wow, and it still is one of best bakeries that manufacturers it's own products.  Yum!  Shabtai Gourmet is Certified KOSHER and PAREVE otherwise known as "Dairy Free" by the Ok Kosher Supervision.  You can enjoy products like: Lady Fingers, brownie bites, Raspberry Roles, Apricot Rolls, Ring Ting Cupcakes, Swiss Chocolate Rolls, Devils Food 7 Layer Cake, Florentine Lace Cookies, Chocolate Chip Cookies, Sponge Cake Loaf, Rainbow Cookies, Melt Away Crumb Cookies, Bread Crumbs and the classic Mini Black And Whie Cookies and they are all GLUTEN FREE !!!!  **I highly recommend this brand for your Passover celebration.  Their foods are fantastic!  Since I live in NYC, I did some of the dirty work for you.  For retailers that sell Shabtai Gourmet in the New York City Area click HERE and HERE.  If you live in Long Island and would like to know which retailers sells Shabtai click HERE
Click HERE for the Store Locator by entering your zip code.
If you happen to be in the New York City area or the Murray Hill area Shabtai is sold at the 34th St. Gristedes!! woo hoo!  They are located right in front near the registers.  So exciting!  I stocked up!

Lucky for us there is shipping all over the Continental U.S.-Phew!  Just in case we can't get our hands on these fantastic goodies!!

Shabtai Gourmet sells to many different retailers across the board like Waldbaums, A & P, D'Agostino, Balducci's, Kroger's, Pathmark, Gristedes, Food Emporium, Stop and Shop, Wegman's and MORE.  These goodies are found everywhere!



Schicks Bakery has two pages on their website of gluten free and kosher/pareve for Passover goodies! Check out the Seven Layer Cake, Apricot Roll, Raspberry Roll, Chocolate Nut Roll, Chocolate Seven Layer Cake, Black and White Swirl, Praline Nut Roll, Strawberry Roll, Railroad, Nut Cake, Candy Brownie, Sponge Cake,  Nut Cake, Chocolate Chiffon, Nut Sponge Cake, Mandel Cake, Coffee Cake, Coconut Macaroons, Almond Macaroons, Walnut Macaroons, Chocolate Dipped Macaroons, Chocolate Nut Wafers and more...and that's just gluten free cakes and cookies!  These goodies look soooooo good!  You just have to take a gander!  Curious about Schicks bakery?

Reisman's Bakery-located in Brooklyn 110 Avenue O Brooklyn, NY 11204 has gluten free baked goods and items such as: and are sold in your local supermarket like Gristedes where I found their Rainbow Cookies gluten free!

Streits has an assortment of delicious gluten free macaroons in flavors like double chocolate and coconut.

Gefen  is another brand that has some gluten free products that are safe for Passover like their egg noodles and elbows.  I have been seeing this brand a lot lately in your local supermarkets like Stop and Shop or Gristedes.


Butterflake Bakery is another bakery that distributes their products to other retailers.  Baked goods like Passover Gluten Free Chocolate cake on Kosher.com or their 7 Layer Cake, Apricot Ring Cake and more!

Katz Gluten Free-has a great assortment of breads, cakes, cookies and can be found almost everywhere including Brooklyn, Long Island, NYC, Queens, Staten Island!   Just click HERE for a store locator. 


GF Matzoh and other items not listed by brand:

This matzoh is sold all over the world.  To find out exactly where this product is carried whether you be in England or New York click HERE for a list of distributors.

Lakewood is another brand that makes gluten free matzoh. (**this company also produces spelt and wheat matzoh, so make sure you ask for GF).  You can buy Online or buy at one of their Distributors,
Need a gluten free Matzoh Ball recipe? or how about a Matzoh Candy recipe?  

Passover wouldn't be the same without mazoh balls, and for those with a gluten intolerant? 
GF Matzoh Balls-These delicious options are pre-made and frozen.

 If you are breading your dishes this year you may want to check out gluten free passover friendly 'Bread Crumbs'

Check out Gluten Free Palace for gluten free matzoh safe for passover or Kosher.com for gluten free Matzoh by Shmura.

Did you know that Quinoa is Kosher for Passover?  Great news right?!  I think so!!


Now where can you find all of these things?  Your local supermarkets!  D'Agostino, Food Emporium, Gristedes, Whole Foods, Trader Joe's, Westerly Market, Fairway, Stop and Shop, King Kullen, Waldbaums, Pathmark, A and P, and more!  In addition to supermarkets you can also check your local kosher stores and bakeries.

Passover Jellies and Fruit Candies-Most of these are ok and gluten free, but it's really important that you check the ingredients to make sure.  Some may have hidden gluten.  Always check!  The Fruit candies are always my favorite!

Mich's Mac's are also a GREAT new Macaroon on the market.  Michelle is a baker residing out of East Hampton, New York and has three different flavors of chocolate covered Macaroons!  White Chocolate Covered, Dark Chocolate Covered and Milk Chocolate Covered.  I would insert a picture here, but I ate them all before I took a photograph!  Mich's Mac's are sold at specialty markets in the New York area.  Stay tuned for my review on Mich's Mac's.  These gourmet Macaroons are gluten free!  Yay!  I had met Michelle at an event in South Hampton, NY over the winter-time, and I am not even a Macaroon lover, but these were out of this world!  Check them out if you can.

Enjoy!  and have a healthy and happy gluten-free Passover!

xoxo Julie

Passover Paradise

I found this Article while doing a search today for a gluten free Passover.  It is written by Amy Ratner and it's a fantastic quick view of everything you need to know for having a safe gluten free Passover.  This guide/article provides a recipe or two, the meaning of a gluten free passover, websites to get great products and more!

She provides Brand names you can trust, other sites to find amazing recipes and a delicious gluten free matzoh recipe!  Good ones are hard to come by.

Enjoy!!

xoxo Julie

http://www.goodiegoodiegluten-free.blogspot.com/

How To-Gluten Free Kids and Their Parents

Hi there!

Are you a parent dealing with a gluten free child?  Do you have trouble conveying what is gluten free to teachers, administrators, babysitters and more?  Wouldn't it just be easier if you had a list you can hand out?  I think so, and so I have provided a resources below that you can print out and hand out.  I have provided lists and forms.  This form is a form that lists everything that is safe and unsafe for your child.  All you have to do is fill out your child's name in the spaces provided and hand it out to the designated parties.  Worry no more!  You can also find these lists in my GF Parent Index as well as my GF Tips page.


Gluten-Free Candy and Snack List-This list comes with a form you as the parent can give your child's teacher as to what your child can have with this diagnosis.  It also shows you what kind of school products such as finger paints, crayons and playdough have gluten in them.  Please add to this list that Betty Crocker Whipped Frosting and Betty Crocker Rich and Creamy frostings are gluten-free, as well as the Gluten Free Betty Crocker mixes (must indicate gluten free on the box).

**Please note that McDonald's french fries are NOT gluten-free.  **Please also note that most butter/margarine's are gluten-free but always check the ingredients.  

Gluten-Free Basics-This list offers the basics of being gluten-free.  It gives information for foods, candy, snacks and even more school oriented products like certain soaps and squirt paint bottles that your child cannot have if gluten-free.  This list also gives planned out breakfasts, lunches and dinners for your gluten-free children and/or family.

Gluten-Free Candy List 2004-This list offers different kinds of candies and chocolates that have been checked as gluten-free.  Please note that Lindt and Godiva are NOT gluten free.  Milkway is NOT gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Candy List Resources:-Since ingredients always change, this is a list of brand's websites that you can always count on.  Contact brands directly.  Link has contact info.

xoxo Julie

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Applegate Farms-Sandwich meats and more!

 
  


Yeah baby!  You heard me!  Applegate Farms has a variety of cold cuts, frozen foods, sausages and cheese that are gluten free!!

Did you know that if you go to a deli and order just sliced pieces of cold cuts and they slice it on the same slicer as other products, you are risking some major cross contamination?  Some cold cuts are preserved in HIDDEN GLUTEN.  Some cold cuts run into cross contamination issues.  Either way, you end up getting sick.  A wise nutritionist once told me this information.  Her name is Keri Gans and she is located in New York City.  On the random occasions that I have had them, I have gotten really sick.  Ever since then I have steered clear of cold cuts

Applegate Farms is dedicated to producing gluten free products, and they happen to be casein free, vegetarian and have no added nitrites.  Great!  Now i'm not a huge fan of cold cuts, but I have had this brand and it's really good.  Of course it doesn't taste like the gourmet meats you will find at your deli but it does the trick.  These are great meats and cheeses to use for your kids lunches or a lunch for yourself.  Either way, you and your children will be smiling.

These meats are also great for making gluten free subs for the Superbowl or parties!

Find these deli meats at your local supermarket in the raw meat section.

Deli Meats by Applegate Farms are:

Organic Genoa Salami
Organic Herb Turkey Breast
Organic Roast Beef
Organic Roasted Chicken
Organic Roasted Turkey Breast
Organic Smoked Chicken
Organic Smoked Turkey Breast
Organic Uncured Ham
Natural Herb Turkey Breast
Natural Black Forest Ham
Natural Coppa
Natural Genoa Salami
Natural Honey and Maple Turkey Breast
Natural Honey Ham
Natural Hot Genoa Salami
Natural Hot Soppressata
Natural Pancetta
Natural Pepperoni
Natural Prosciutto
Natural Roast Beef
Natural Turkey Breast
Natural Slow Cooked Ham
Natural Smoked Turkey Breast
Natural Soppressata
Natural Turkey Bologna
Natural Turkey Salami

Other products from Applegate Farms that are GLUTEN FREE!  Now you don't have to feel deprived at the cocktail party!

HOT DOGS:
The Greatest Little Organic Smokey Pork Cocktail FRANKS
The Great Organic Hot Dog
Organic Turkey Hot Dogs
Organic Stadium Style Hot Dogs
Organic Chicken Hot Dogs
Organic Beef Hot Dogs

Natural Turkey Hot Dogs
Natural Chicken Hot Dogs
Natural Big Apple Beef Hot Dogs
Natural Beef Hot Dogs

SAUSAGE:

Organic Sweet Italian Sausage
Organic Spinach and Feta Sausage
Organic Pork Kielbasa Sausage
Organic Pork Andouille Sausage
Organic Fire Roasted Red Pepper Sausage
Organic Chicken and Apple Sausage
Organic Chicken and Turkey Andouille Sausage
Organic Pork Bratwurst Sausage

BACON: 

Organic Turkey Bacon
Organic Uncured Sunday Bacon
Natural Turkey Bacon
Natural Peppered Bacon
Natural Dry Cured Bacon
Natural Canadian Bacon
Natural Sunday Bacon

Applegate farms also makes gluten free Frozen foods:

Organic Beef Burgers
Organic Turkey Burgers
Natural Chicken and Maple Sausage
Natural Chicken and Sage Sausage
Natural Chicken and Apple Breakfast Sausage
Natural Gluten Free Chicken Nuggets

As well as Gluten Free Cheeses:

Organic American Cheese
Organic Mild Cheddar Cheese
Organic Monterey Jack Cheese
Organic Provolone Cheese
Organic Muenster Cheese
Natural American Cheese
Natural Cheddar Cheese
Natural Emmentaler Swiss Cheese
Natural Havarti Cheese
Natural Monterey Jack Cheese with Jalapeno Peppers
Natural Muenster Kase Cheese
Natural New York Extra Sharp Aged Cheddar Cheese
Natural Provolone Cheese
Probiotic Yogurt Cheese


Click HERE to search for stores that carry Applegate Farms by State or Zip Code

Click HERE for Applegate Farms Recipes

Applegate Farms makes HEADLINES - Click HERE to see where Applegate has appeared!

Click HERE to order online or just stop by your local Grocer

xoxo Julie

http://www.goodiegoodiegluten-free.blogspot.com/


Betty Crocker Goes Gluten Free!



As most of you know Betty Crocker went GLUTEN FREE.  Yay!  

I can't even tell you how excited I was when I was in Pathmark in Long Island.  I was making a quick pit stop at the market before getting on the train to NYC.  I remembered reading someone elses blog where they said they saw gluten free frostings at the supermarkets.  This I have not seen yet.  But I did stop quickly in the baking section to see, and I didn't see frosting, but I saw the Betty Crocker Gluten Free cake, Brownie, Devil's Food and Cookie mixes.  I could have jumped up for joy, but then I would have received stares from random customers.  I of course whipped out my blackberry for a few shots just for evidence.  The only times I have seen these Betty Crocker GF Mixes was online on the actual website, so to see these mixes at a market that barely carries anything gluten free was a revelation.  I was so happy!  I had to stock up of course!  I bought the Devils Food Cake Mix, the Yellow Cake Mix and the Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix.

These mixes are also made in a gluten free facility, so no worries about cross contamination!

These mixes are also Kosher, Pareve, so that's always good for the Jewish Holidays!  Yay!

When I bake them, I will be sure to leave a review.  Each one at Pathmark cost about $4.29 per carton.  Not bad!  And they were one of the first mixes in the aisle.



Click HERE for Gluten Free Frosting recipes on the official Betty Crocker website

You can also purchase Betty Crocker's Gluten Free mixes on Amazon.com, 

I did some supermarket research to see where ya'll can pick up your own boxes of GF Betty Crocker in New York: Long Island, Queens, Brooklyn, Upstate, Westchester, Staten Island, New Jersey and Connecticut:

Queens:

SUPER STOP & SHOP
Elmhurst NY-(718)-803-0863

STOP & SHOP
Ridgewood NY-(718)-846-2310

Long Island:

KING KULLEN GROCERY
Manhasset, NY-(516)-365-2473

SUPER STOP & SHOP
Carle Place, NY-(516)-739-1535

WALDBAUM SUPER MARKET
Great Neck, NY-(516)-504-0879

SUPER STOP & SHOP
New Hyde Park, NY-(516)-616-9170

SUPER STOP & SHOP
Hicksville, NY-(516)-937-7060

SUPER STOP & SHOP
West Hemptstead, NY-(516)-796-5547

SHOPRITE
East Meadow, NY-(516)-796-5547

SHOPRITE
Plainview, NY-(516)-938-0240

SUPER STOP & SHOP
Bellmore, NY-(516)-826-0880

KING KULLEN GROCERY
Rockville Centre, NY-(516)-766-2818

PATHMARK SUPERMARKET
Seaford, NY-(516)-826-4090

KING KULLEN GROCERY
Huntington, NY-(631)-385-7365

SUPER STOP & SHOP
West Babylon, NY-(631)-587-9452

PATHMARK SUPERMARKET
Wheatly Plaza, NY


Brooklyn:

SHOPRITE
Brooklyn NY (718)-252-5770

New Jersey:

SUPER STOP & SHOP
Clifton NJ-(973)-779-6697

SHOPRITE
Nutley NJ-(973)-235-1213

SHOPRITE
Lodi NJ-(973)-365-2287

SHOPRITE
Paramus, NJ-(201)-843-6616

SHOPRITE
Rochelle Park, NJ-(201)-843-1424

Staten Island:

MANNIX SHOPRITE
Staten Island-(718)-982-8662

Westchester:

SUPER STOP & SHOP
New Rochelle, NY-(914)-632-7084

SUPER STOP & SHOP
Yonkers, NY-(Vredenburgh Ave)

Connecticut: 

SUPER STOP & SHOP
Stamford, CT-(Bedford Street)

To find out if your supermarket carries these Gluten Free mixes click HERE for the General Mills/Betty Crocker Product Locator.

And remember!  Just because I have not located your store in this list, does not mean your store doesn't have it!

Enjoy!! xoxo

Julie

http://www.goodiegoodiegluten-free.blogspot.com/